Resources:

Curricular Resources

Lectio Book Awards, 2017-2018

Armstrong: The Adventurous Journey of a Mouse to the Moon. By Torben Kuhlmann.

NASA – Moon Landing: https://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/apollo/apollo11.html

Space.com – Neil Armstrong: https://www.space.com/15519-neil-armstrong-man-moon.html

 

Every Last Drop: Bringing Clean Water Home. By Michelle Mulder.

The Water Project: https://thewaterproject.org/community/profile/jose-long

Global Water Initiative: http://globalwaterinitiative.org/

Water.org: https://water.org/our-impact/water-crisis/

 

Fortunately the Milk. By Neil Gaiman. Illustrated by Skottie Young.

Space.com – Time Travel: https://www.space.com/21675-time-travel.html

Teacher’s guide: https://media.bloomsbury.com/rep/files/fortunately-the-milk-teacher-notes.pdf

Discussion questions and activities: http://d17z1e73km662w.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/07/26081351/FortunatelyMilk_DiscussionGuide.pdf

 

Frazzled: Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom. By Booki Vivat.

Genius Kitchen – School Lunch Ideas: http://www.geniuskitchen.com/ideas/back-to-school-lunch-box-ideas-6050?c=8772

National Student Council: https://www.nasc.us/?SSO=true

 

Full of Beans. By Jennifer L. Holm.

History.com – The Great Depression: http://www.history.com/topics/great-depression

Khan Academy – The Great Depression: https://www.khanacademy.org/humanities/ap-us-history/period-7/apush-great-depression/a/the-great-depression

Key West Fun Facts: https://www.trolleytours.com/key-west/facts

 

Furthermore. By Tahereh Mafi.

Book website: http://www.taherehbooks.com/book/furthermore/

Book club ideas and questions: http://www.readbrightly.com/brightly-book-club-furthermore/

 

Fuzzy Mud. By Louis Sachar.

NPR Interview – Louis Sachar on “Fuzzy Mud”: https://www.npr.org/2015/08/02/427113842/kids-love-to-be-scared-louis-sachar-on-balancing-fun-and-fear

Inspiration for “Fuzzy Mud”: http://www.louissachar.com/inspiration-for-fuzzy-mud.html

 

How I Became a Ghost: A Choctaw Trail of Tears Story. By Tim Tingle.

Choctaw School website: http://www.choctawschool.com/home-side-menu/history/trail-of-tears-from-mississippi-walked-by-our-ancestors.aspx

Mississippi History Now website: http://mshistorynow.mdah.state.ms.us/articles/12/mushulatubbee-and-choctaw-removal-chiefs-confront-a-changing-world

 

Lowriders to the Center of the Earth. By Cathy Camper. Illustrated by Raul the Third.

Discussion guide: http://www.chroniclebooks.com/landing-pages/pdfs/lowriders_series_discussion_guide.pdf

Activity kit: http://www.chroniclebooks.com/landing-pages/pdfs/Lowriders_ActivityKit.pdf

Reference materials: http://www.chroniclebooks.com/landing-pages/pdfs/lowriders_reference_list.pdf

 

Miracle Man: The Story of Jesus. By John Hendrix.

YouTube – Book video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VhkxdRMOY3U

 

Paper Wishes. By Lois Sepahban.

Classroom guide: http://www.loissepahban.com/pdf/PaperWishes-Classroom-Guide.pdf

Teacher’s guide: http://www.theclassroombookshelf.com/2016/03/paper-wishes/

History.com video: http://www.history.com/topics/world-war-ii/japanese-american-relocation

 

Pink is for Blobfish: Discovering the World’s Perfectly Pink Animals. By Jess Keating. Illustrated by David DeGrand.

10 Amazing Pink Animals: http://www.momtastic.com/webecoist/2011/08/23/blushing-hides-10-amazing-pink-animals/

 

Save Me a Seat. By Sarah Weeks & Gita Varadarajan.

Stopbullying.gov: https://www.stopbullying.gov/kids/what-you-can-do/index.html

Meet the author video: https://www.teachingbooks.net/author_collection.cgi?id=45&mid=78

 

The Changelings. By Christina Soontornvat.

Book website: http://books.sourcebooks.com/the-changelings/

Activity kit: https://www.sourcebooks.com/images/The_Changelings_-_Activity_Kit_Final.pdf

 

The Inquisitor’s Tale, or, the Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog. By Adam Gidwitz. Illustrated by Hatem Aly.

Canterbury Tales Facts for Kids: https://wiki.kidzsearch.com/wiki/The_Canterbury_Tales

Saint Louis, King of France: http://www.catholic.org/saints/saint.php?saint_id=470

 

The Last Fifth Grade of Emerson Elementary. By Laura Shovan.

Book website: http://laurashovan.com/book/the-last-fifth-grade-of-emerson-elementary/

CDC: Food Desert: https://www.cdc.gov/features/fooddeserts/index.html

 

The Red Pencil. By Andrea Davis Pinkney. Illustrated by Shane W. Evans.

Teacher’s guide: http://www.theclassroombookshelf.com/2014/10/the-red-pencil/

Teacher’s guide: https://www.perma-bound.com/static/TPR/000457838.pdf

Red Pencil quiz: http://www.bookrags.com/studyguide-the-red-pencil/free-quiz.html#gsc.tab=0

 

The Wild Robot. By Peter Brown.

Author’s account of writing process: http://www.peterbrownstudio.com/uncategorized/the-wild-robot/

Teacher’s guide: http://www.theclassroombookshelf.com/2016/03/the-wild-robot/

Teaching ideas: http://teachingandtechnologyideas.weebly.com/wild-robot.html

 

Trombone Shorty. By Troy Andrews. Illustrated by Bryan Collier.  

YouTube – Trombone Shorty at 13 years old: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9YUi3UhEPQ

Trombone Shorty Organization: http://www.tromboneshortyfoundation.org/

 

Wish. By. Barbara O’Connor.

Discussion guide: http://www.barboconnor.com/docs/wish-discussion-guide.pdf

 

2017-2018 Resources:

Lectio Master 2017-2018

Lectio 2017-18 Picture Summaries

Lectio 2017-18 Summaries

Lectio Book Tracker 2017-18

2017-2018 Resources:

Registration Form